# 2023 Minutes

# ADR Institute of Alberta 2023 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING June 1, 2023

In person: Calgary (29) and Online (25)

- 1. Barbara McNeil, President, declared quorum and called the meeting to order at 6:47 p.m. Approximately 59 members and guests were in attendance.
- 2. Motion: To accept the Agenda. Moved by Dora Dang Seconded by Kathy Hutchings. Vote **Carried**.
- 3. Motion: To approve the June 16, 2022 minutes, Moved by Jerry Crawford. Seconded by Usman Mahmood. Vote **Carried**.

## 4. Reports:

- a) President's Report delivered by Barbara McNeil Received.
  - Thanks to volunteers, ADRIA Staff, members of the board (current, departed, newly joined)
- b) Messages from ADR Canada by Gary Lacasse on behalf of Elton Simoes and Michael Schafler
  - Collaboration, bringing capacity to the affiliates
  - Implementing new research by the end of the year to see what our practitioners are doing
    - 30% don't do mediation or arbitration, 40% retired
    - Figure out where we are going
  - Work Alberta is doing is tremendous, thank you to work Paul has done and welcome Lynn
- c) Executive Director's Report Delivered by Paul Conway Received
  - Pleased with effort of the staff to get students into courses and revenue coming in, good work done to get contracts with folks such as National Defense
  - There has been a steady, 5% per year decline in memberships and designations but optimistic the trend is reversing.
- **d)** Treasurer's Report/ Auditor's Report for fiscal year 2022 Presented by Paul Conway, Executive Director on behalf of Sam Sele
  - Difficult 2022 had operational reserve of nearly \$150,000
  - Fared first two years of COVID well due in part to Governmental supports
  - Had a decline over third year of COVID with lack of Governmental supports, but upward trend beginning again
  - Trimmed expenses and lease costs in December, and clients came back so there has been an upward trend

Motion: To accept the audited financial statements as presented. Moved by (Jerry Crawford). Seconded by Dora Dang. Vote **Carried**.

Motion: To appoint HOLLP as Auditor for 2023. Moved by Dora Dang. Seconded by Kathy Hutchins. Vote **Carried.** 

#### 5. Presentation of 2023/2024 Board of Directors:

New Board Members:

JB Isaacs, Jill Mason, Lauren Bartlette, Coreen Roth, and Leda Stawnychko (3-year terms)

Returning Members: Sharon Roberts, Cindy Imppola. Barbara McNeil, Dora Dang, Andrea Menard, Stephen Carter-Edwards

Ad-Hoc Members: Karen Stewart and Larissa Brell were appointed for a one-year term

Board Officers/Executive: Stephen Carter-Edwards (President), Past President, Vice President, Governance Chair, Treasurer and Secretary) will be determined at a future date.

Dora Dang will continue in her second year of her three year appointment as the ADRIC representative.

New Executive Director: Lynn King

Outgoing Board members: Amin Poonja, Paul Blakeney and Sam Sele

# 6. Acknowledgements and Recognition:

Amin Poona, Sam Sele and Paul Blakeney, have been so instrumental in supporting the ADR community on the Board. Thank you so much for your service and dedication.

Outgoing President: Barbara MacNeil

Outgoing Executive Director: Paul Conway

- 7. New Business none.
- 8. The meeting was adjourned at 7:33 p.m.

#### In attendance:

Online: 25

Jillian Young

**Britt Dorland** 

Jill Mason

Gloria Lechky

Stan Galbraith

Yvonne Gardiner

Sandy Cornell
Danielle Dubien

Danielle Dabiel

Deboah Howes

Stuart Simpson

Cecile Schultz

(undisclosed registered member)

Dawn Hardy

Erin Grier

Ali Ansell

(undisclosed registered member)

Donna Cross

Erika Deines

Jeannette Bourgeault

Cindy Imppola

Karen Cloutier

Karen Delaronde

John Skone

Kevin Magill

Ann Davidson

### In Calgary: 29

Andrea Menard

Barbara McNeill

**Brin Hamilton** 

Coreen Roth

Deb Charman

Don Schapira

Dora Dang

Elton Simoes

Flo Lye

Gary Lacasse

Jim McCartney

Josie (undisclosed last name)

Kathy Hutchings

Lauren Bartlette

Larissa Brell

Leda Stawnychko

Lynn King

Marc Bhalla

Matthew (undisclosed last name)

Paulette DeKelver

**Paul Conway** 

Paul Robertson

Sara Ahlstrom

**Scott Siemens** 

Shannon Belvedere

Stephen Carter-Edwards Usman Mahmood

Wes Thiessen

Zabeda Yaqoub